At least make it a bit your own

I know we do not own all our devices, for real, nor the software or anything we do with them. However that does not take away the fact you can at least still customise your Operating System (OS) and apps.

Windows 3.11

My first operating system was Windows for Workgroups 3.11 and MS-DOS 6.0. Yes, I am that old. I was running it from a system me and my dad built together. A 486DX2 66MHz, 2Mb of memory, and a whopping 20Mb hard drive. It did feature a Soundblaster Pro soundcard though and a VGA display out.

So the very first thing I did and spent quite a lot of hours doing was to make my Win3.11 look my own, and way different than my dad's. I wanted my own colours and fonts for stuff and icons. It then became really my system. I loved it. I would change it depending upon my mood and it would not change when I went to Windows 95, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx, and all the way to PopOS! that I run today.

I will built a system soon with my son, and I hope he will do the same as I did and customise it to his hearts content. It will be one of the first things I will show him.

Catppuccin

One of the things I liked about the presets that came with Windows in terms of styling was that it was uniform and across the whole of Windows. That is different now in Linux for example. Every webapp takes you out of the styling you want, each site has their own typeface and the Desktop Environment (DE) itself also has too many different moving parts to easily customise it as a whole cohesive unit.

When I was still on a regular Ubuntu release I started using Nord theme. I wanted something muted and more quiet for the busy days I was having. I ended up feeling a bit moody and down because of the theme I found. It is a wonderful theme, very beautifully crafted but it has a tone of sadness for me.

I wanted to get something a bit more vibrant, like Cyberpunk 80s or something. In came Synthwave. Which is a wonderful theme, but I cannot apply it easily across the whole of the DE. Then things like Monokai are too harsh for me. I loved the look of Shades of Purple too, but again same problem as with Synthwave.

Then came along Catppuccin. It is wonderfully vibrant and at the same time still calming enough. It does not feel sad or muted in anyway. I can use it for theming anything from GTK to Kitty to even websites like YouTube and GitHub where I also spend quite some time.

Font of choice

It was CozetteVector for a long time. However Kitty did not support it sadly and also it, at the time, was missing some icons that were being used by Neovim (Spacevim at the time) to display icons for Dockerfile and so on.

So I had to find a new one, and for some time I used another monospace NES feeling font but I saw that it did not spark joy anymore after a while. I had to upgrade to 16 bit style era. I now rock SpaceMono and I quite like it.

Uniformity

To get uniformity across my DE, I have the following setup:

DE:		GNOME 42.9
GTK Theme:	Catppuccin Mocha Standard Peach Dark
GTK Cursors:	Catppuccin Mocha Peach
GTK Icon:	Candy icons
Terminal:	KiTTY
Terminal Theme:	Catppuccin Mocha
Shell:		fish + starship
YouTube:	Catppuccin Mocha Peach
GitHub:		Catppuccin Mocha
DuckDuckGo:	Catppuccin Mocha
Font:		SpaceMono
Editor:		AstroNvim
Editor Theme:	Catppuccin Mocha

I urge you to go out there and look for yourself what you can find to make the system your own.

P.S. I will want to start a Twitch stream soon that will be specifically customising Win3.11 again.