File sharing is difficult

You would think this takes place in the early days of computing, but no this takes place in 2023. I needed to share some files to help my brother to launch a new website. I told him just get me the files and I will put them online. So you cannot just mail them, since they could be considered harmful/malicious files, or it is too big to send through the mail provider. Then you go to services like WeTransfer but then you have a limit on time to get the files, not only that if you change one file then you have to send it again. It gets very difficult to track what file belongs to what state unless you name them like that.

Then there are other options like running a FTP server yourself to share them, but that is not very intuitive to non-tech people. So you have to use a service of some kind, we settled on Dropbox in this case. Now getting away from just helping out a friend.

How about helping someone in my own household. I have some videos/pictures I want to send to another machine very easily and directly. I could use Bluetooth but it is horrible at file transfer specifically. The rest it does quite nicely. So if I transfer from my PC or device to another I usually just start a python3 -m http.server in the directory holding the files and then downloading the files I need.

Every time I run into this problem I find myself asking why are these seemingly so simple and core functionalities so difficult to implement. Even if everyone would run Windows, it is not guaranteed to work because I have a Windows machine in my network and I cannot get it to share files with any other machine.

Casual on the go sharing

Let us say you want to quickly share a file with a friend you happened to run into. You cannot share it via Bluetooth you will be standing there for 10 minutes. You either have to e-mail it, but then what mail address? You have to send it through some sort of messaging service, but then do you have them in that particular service?

Why can I not just drag and drop a file to this person's contact information and they will get the file? This should seem very easy to attain for a mobile phone OS.

If there is another way like NFC to share the file instantly that would be wonderful, but I have not found it yet. This is not limited to files though, what about Spotify songs, YouTube videos, webcomics, or anything else digital you can think of.

#100DaysToOffload #devlife