StealthyCoder

devlife

According to my experience I find that there are two simplified environments where people can work in. You will thrive in either one, but never* in both. This means you can ask this as a question when starting to work at a new place whether or not they will provide an environment where you will thrive in. The first environment I will describe by what the employees will need to do in order to thrive here.

Read more...

This post is about something that is trending and me and a close friend of mine who were discussing this were both baffled by this trend. We simply don't get it. There was once the web in all it's glory in the 90s. It was only HTML. That was it. There was a markup language that showed you what needed to be put where. Then there was some styling but not a lot really.

Read more...

What forms of politics occur in coding? Well in particular I want to explain how teams can operate and be successful using different forms of government as the basis to form teams.

Our typical team will contain some software engineers, a team lead, some testers and a project manager.

Read more...

There is a law called Amara's Law that states the following:

We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.

This ties in with the so called hype cycle. That cycle has five phases starting at inflated expectations through disillusionment arriving on the plateau of productivity. The thing to learn is how to skip all these phases and arrive at the end immediately. I hope I will give you some insight on how to approach this.

Read more...

I have read many a times a post starting with “I switched from Python to Go and I love it.” It baffled me until now. I have a hypothesis about why this happened and also how Google spreads. It does not spread like a disease and infect, it spreads more like religion and ideas can spread.

Read more...

I am not happy with Kubernetes. No, that is too soft but hating Kubernetes is too strong. It is one below hate. I dislike working with it and I advise others to take caution in wanting to use it.

Read more...

No I have not caved and suddenly love Kubernetes. Also this is probably the best topic so far that has given me so many things to write about so I hope you will allow me to milk it a little more.

Read more...

This is a brief post on a phenomenon that is easy to detect but hard to combat and even harder to eradicate. The following happens more often than not, sadly. So you are in a discussion with a colleague on what kind of tech to use and it actually got started by the other colleague saying we should use this technology. We shall call the technology Starlit Snowflakes. I hope you learned by now the first and only relevant question to ask that needs a satisfying answer is of course:

Read more...

So there are moments in your career where you face a choice: to go or to not go nuclear.

What does it mean to go nuclear though?

Read more...

I recently had a small discussion on why it is a bad thing when we can not automate, or script, something. The only argument this person had was if we spend two weeks on automating something that takes 5 minutes that is a bad thing. There are several reasons to automate procedures and saving time is not the main thing.

Read more...