When did pronouns become so confusing

So I was watching something the other day, a fantastic speedrun of Yoshi's Island, and someone used a pronoun that I never heard of. I only saw it written and it was xe/ve. I tried to get the pronunciation of that, but I could not find it easily.

It is joined together with ze it seems, but I am not sure. To me it raised a question. They who advocate for this and see it as hyper personal and validates their identity, i.e. their identity is hung on this particular word and wording, say I an identity nomenclature illiterate should ask and respect their pronouns and use it as they see fit.

I have no qualms with this, however the following situation illustrates the problem with this. Four human beings are placed in a situation. One of the biologically born male variety and one of the biologically born female variety and two of whatever.

One of the whatever ones says, oh look at that that person left their bag. You ask who left their bag I will give it to them quickly. The person replies: “She did”.

Now for me, I would immediately go for the biologically born female. Give her the bag. That is the information that was given to me by this other person. In the world of the defenders of the pronoun they will say it could be either one still and I might make a wrong decision by giving it to the woman because that can mean the biologically born male one these days too.

I hate this loss of information. I really cannot stand it. I am all for if you personally tell me to use waka-waka to refer to your state of being, but you also have to accept that you cannot escape, easily that is, the burden that is your biological identity and people will act accordingly to that.

Let us say the whatever one said, “They did”. I would still not know which one left their bag. It is too vague. I would have to ask, can you point to the one who left it? As that will convey the correct information without loss.

Maybe it will be absorbed into our language, but the gender neutral they is fine enough for me.

#thoughts